Checkpoint Challenge participants shine

After four weeks of the Checkpoint Challenge Schools League, steady improvements and consistent results have taken participants from Jeppe Boys, Jeppe Girls and Leicester Road School to the top of the overall points rankings. The final event of this League, which was held at Edenvale High School on Monday 23 February 2015, challenged the participants with its layers of buildings and corridors and winning margins were the closest yet.


In the Primary Girls category Nokukhanya Radebe (Leicester Road) outran Lesedi Kgosiemang by 22 seconds to win the eight-checkpoint course in 20:19. Hercules Kleynhans (Leicester Road) result stands out as the most exceptional of the League. He blew away the rest of the Primary Boys field to win in only 9:31, almost six-minutes faster than his closest competitor!

Over the course of the League the Junior Girls have pulled out some sterling results. The 12-checkpoint course was won by Tiffany Harzon (Jeppe Girls) in 12:42, almost one minute faster than last week’s winner, Carmen Parker (Jeppe Girls). Junior Boy Ashton Truter (Jeppe Boys) made this his first win in 11:03, but only by a whisker at six-seconds ahead of Matthew Leishman.

Katlego Matshwane‘s (Jeppe Girls) consistent results across all four events saw her improve each week and take a well-deserved first win on the 16-checkpoint course in 21:19. Bevelina Ledwaba (Jeppe Girls), another consistent competitor, finished only 38-seconds behind.

The Senior Boys have proved to be an exceptionally competitive category, especially the duel between Freddy Kabemba (Jeppe Boys) and Tyler Clark (Jeppe Boys). The race was Freddy’s and he completes the League with three wins and one second place after the four events.

With the League wrapped up, ‘Best Three’ point scores from the four events have been tallied and averaged to determine overall winners in each category.

Winners of the first Checkpoint Challenge Schools League are:

  • Senior Girls: Bevelina Ledwaba (Jeppe Girls)
  • Junior Girls: Carmen Parker (Jeppe Girls)
  • Primary Girls: Lesedi Kgosiemang (Leicester Road)
  • Senior Boys: Freddy Kabemba (Jeppe Boys)
  • Junior Boys: Matthew Leishman (Jeppe Boys)
  • Primary Boys: Hercules Kleynhans (Leicester Road)

These participants, together with other top scorers, will compete in the Orienteering Schools League FINAL, against selected runners from the North-west suburb-based League, on Monday 9 March 2015 at the Kloofendal Nature Reserve.